Feniton Primary School

Part of the Otter Valley Federation

  • Feniton C of E Primary School
    Station Road, Feniton, Honiton
    Devon EX14 3EA

    (01404) 850303

  • Otter Valley Federation

    Otter Valley Federation

Calendar

School Holidays

A reminder that School Governors may not grant any leave of absence during term time unless there are exceptional circumstances.

If parents wish to take their child out of school then they need to make a formal request to the school as far in advance as reasonably possible. A decision will be made under the law applicable at the time of the absence. The decision rests with the Governing Body and, if it is not granted, or the child is absent for a period longer than has been authorised, it counts as an unauthorised absence. A parent can make a request to the school in writing on the appropriate form available from the office.

The Governing Body is likely to regard as “exceptional circumstances” when:-

  1. a) A parent, grandparent or other close family relative is seriously or terminally ill and the holiday is likely to be the last such holiday, with the relative concerned.
  2. b) There has recently been a death or significant other trauma in the close family and it is felt that an immediate holiday might help the child concerned better deal with the situation.
  3. c) The holiday is a one off, never to be repeated occasion which provides a unique educational experience and can only take place at the requested time.

Please note that if absence during term time is taken without the permission of the school then it is likely that the child’s unauthorised absence will be reported to Devon Education Welfare Service. In certain circumstances it may be decided to issue a fixed penalty notice to each parent or, if attendance is generally poor, to prosecute. Children with an absence rate of 90% or below are considered persistent absentees by the Education Welfare Officer and the circumstances for absence will be investigated.

 

Term dates 2016/2017

Autumn Term 2016

Thursday 1 September – non-pupil day
Friday 2 September – school re-opens for pupils
Half Term: Monday 24 October – Friday 28 October
School closes for Christmas – Friday 16 December

Spring Term 2017

Tuesday 3 January – non-pupil day
Wednesday 4 January – school re-opens for pupils
Half Term: Monday 13 February - Friday 17 February
School closes for Easter – Friday 31 March

Summer Term 2017

Tuesday 18 April – school re-opens for pupils
Monday 1 May – school closed for May Day
Half Term: Monday 29 May – Friday 9 June
School closes for the summer holiday – Wednesday 26 July

Term dates 2017/2018

Autumn Term 2017

Monday 4 September - non-pupil day
Tuesday 5 September – school re-opens for pupils
Half Term: Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October
School closes for Christmas - Thursday 21 December

Spring Term 2018

Monday 8 January - school re-opens for pupils
Half Term: Monday 12 February - Friday 16 February
School closes for Easter – Thursday 29 March

Summer Term 2018

Monday 16 April - non-pupil day
Tuesday 17 April – school re-opens for pupils
Monday 7 May – school closed for May Day
Half Term: Monday 28 May – Friday 8 June
School closes for the summer holiday – Friday 27 July